Account Recovery

Gojan

Account Recovery

#1 » Post by Gojan » 10 Oct 2019 18:45

I work in IT. People like me, posting posts like this are a bit of a pain, I find. So apologies in advance... and here we go...

I can log in to this forum without any problems ( obviously, perhaps, given this post.) ... and I use the same password here as I do for my username(s) to login to TRUEWOW... but...

Today, my password (to go in-game) isn't working. It worked fine in April 2016. Actually we had more than one username (/"account") and they all worked fine in 2016. I don't recall whether I've logged in since then. I thought I had, but maybe not.

You might think I've forgotten the password. (But) it's in a script (in a comment)... so I'm pretty sure I know what it was ( or is). And i use the same password here and it works fine.

And I concede: We shared accounts and machines so someone else could have changed the password(s). But they didn't - they haven't played since 2013 ( when we all played a lot more than we've done in recent times). And I used it for a couple of days at Easter 2016 when I was able to log in fine, and play just as you'd expect. We did a (tiny) little bit of testing on the Noble Garden quest.

Today, after failing to login, I tried to effect a password reset/change in account-manager but it says "old password incorrect". At least that's consistent ( which is good).

Also, I tried to use "forgot password" to send an email but I don't remember the email addresses from 6 or 7 years ago to match the username(s).
The account-manager lists some of the usernames and the armoury contains some of the characters ( at least those that I can remember and could check - helped by a spreadsheet that we kept that lists most of our character names). So the characters have not been obliterated ( even after 7 years or so - Thank You Truewow ! )