Abilities are not showing on boss

User avatar
mcheka
Posts: 644

Re: Abilities are not showing on boss

Post#16 » 02 Apr 2016 08:46

Just to be clear, this may have existed long ago, but this is a NEW bug in the sense that a month or so ago everything was working fine. It only started happening in the past few weeks, so some recent update triggered this bug.
Aurelian the Immortal
<Massive Forearms>


Danuvius of Inquisition

User avatar
Nyeriah
Admin
Posts: 10246
Contact:

Re: Abilities are not showing on boss

Post#17 » 02 Apr 2016 08:49

Nyeriah wrote:We had to revert our fix to this because apparently it caused the int divided by zero client crashes. Apparently it's some issue we'll just have to live with. Units can only have up to 64 auras.
Spoiler:

Are you a development enthusiast? Or perhaps just curious to know what scripts are made of? Check out my learning initiative! [The Developer's Den: Progressive Development Learning Project]
Last: Core Scripting: Practice: Scripting a Simple Creature (25.11.2016)

The first volume of the Starter's Development Guide is complete! DOWNLOAD IT HERE

Tag along my YouTube channel to check what I've worked on lately and other fun things. I'll also occasionally post sneak peaks of what I'm currently scripting! Last: Development Series - C'thun's Giant Claw Tentacle Submerge Animation scripted!

Wanna support me? Buy me a chocolate!


May the night shroud me in shadow, and the moon illuminate my foes.

User avatar
mcheka
Posts: 644

Re: Abilities are not showing on boss

Post#18 » 02 Apr 2016 08:57

Well, how often did these divide-by-zero crashes occur? It couldn't have been every time the bug occurred, since people simply didn't get crashes anywhere nearly as often as this bug is happening in raids.
Aurelian the Immortal
<Massive Forearms>


Danuvius of Inquisition

User avatar
Nyeriah
Admin
Posts: 10246
Contact:

Re: Abilities are not showing on boss

Post#19 » 02 Apr 2016 09:02

Prodigy's the one that has looked into this. I'm just relaying the information I have.

Anyway, allowing units to have more than 64 auras apparently breaks some group/party packet. So malformed packets are sent to the client and that ends up crashing some addons or the client itself on some cases. From what I know, it was happening often at Wintergrasp.
Spoiler:

Are you a development enthusiast? Or perhaps just curious to know what scripts are made of? Check out my learning initiative! [The Developer's Den: Progressive Development Learning Project]
Last: Core Scripting: Practice: Scripting a Simple Creature (25.11.2016)

The first volume of the Starter's Development Guide is complete! DOWNLOAD IT HERE

Tag along my YouTube channel to check what I've worked on lately and other fun things. I'll also occasionally post sneak peaks of what I'm currently scripting! Last: Development Series - C'thun's Giant Claw Tentacle Submerge Animation scripted!

Wanna support me? Buy me a chocolate!


May the night shroud me in shadow, and the moon illuminate my foes.


User avatar
mcheka
Posts: 644

Re: Abilities are not showing on boss

Post#20 » 02 Apr 2016 09:11

Alright. Thanks for the info.
Aurelian the Immortal
<Massive Forearms>


Danuvius of Inquisition

User avatar
Longi
Posts: 655

Re: Abilities are not showing on boss

Post#21 » 06 Apr 2016 18:40

srly fix this ....
When I see a beer. I can hear two voices in my head... The first voice is saying: You have to drink it ! and the second says : Haven´t you heard ? You have to drink it !

User avatar
Mortium
Posts: 808

Re: Abilities are not showing on boss

Post#22 » 12 Apr 2016 03:10

More players are experiencing this, moved to PTR and Bug Discussions from General Support.

User avatar
Longi
Posts: 655

Re: Abilities are not showing on boss

Post#23 » 05 May 2016 23:22

well.... whom I have to buy a beer to get the fix for this shit :D

Today in ICC I was playing without RIP for like 90% of time, only luck is I have "feral rotation " memorized for the first minute or so, so there wasnt problem with my dps, but .... later when I dont get CPs in time or after moves / changing targets or so .... its impossible to manage that dots and play this game.

Seriously ... I ll send 5 cans of beer ( 5 kinds of Slovak beer, yea we have awesome beer ) to the person who will fix this ... and I dont care from where you are. I promise you will get it !
When I see a beer. I can hear two voices in my head... The first voice is saying: You have to drink it ! and the second says : Haven´t you heard ? You have to drink it !

User avatar
Longi
Posts: 655

Re: Abilities are not showing on boss

Post#24 » 11 Jan 2017 20:13

looking for the person who fixed this :D You have 5 cans of beer here so I want to send them to you :D :D
When I see a beer. I can hear two voices in my head... The first voice is saying: You have to drink it ! and the second says : Haven´t you heard ? You have to drink it !

User avatar
Nyeriah
Admin
Posts: 10246
Contact:

Re: Abilities are not showing on boss

Post#25 » 11 Jan 2017 20:24

This was fixed 6 months ago or so.
Spoiler:

Are you a development enthusiast? Or perhaps just curious to know what scripts are made of? Check out my learning initiative! [The Developer's Den: Progressive Development Learning Project]
Last: Core Scripting: Practice: Scripting a Simple Creature (25.11.2016)

The first volume of the Starter's Development Guide is complete! DOWNLOAD IT HERE

Tag along my YouTube channel to check what I've worked on lately and other fun things. I'll also occasionally post sneak peaks of what I'm currently scripting! Last: Development Series - C'thun's Giant Claw Tentacle Submerge Animation scripted!

Wanna support me? Buy me a chocolate!


May the night shroud me in shadow, and the moon illuminate my foes.


User avatar
Longi
Posts: 655

Re: Abilities are not showing on boss

Post#26 » 11 Jan 2017 20:36

Nyeriah wrote:This was fixed 6 months ago or so.


Ye I know, but I totally forgot about my a bribe :D " found " it randomly coz I was looking for one thing from my posts ... so why not :D
When I see a beer. I can hear two voices in my head... The first voice is saying: You have to drink it ! and the second says : Haven´t you heard ? You have to drink it !

Return to “PTR and Bug Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest